The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
166
7
7
 …
Baker & Taylor
After the Russells move in next door, Anna Fox, a recluse, finds her world crumbling when she witnesses something she shouldn't.

HARPERCOLL

#1 New York Times Bestseller &; Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, and Gary Oldman

&;Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.&; &;Gillian Flynn

&;Unputdownable.&; &;Stephen King

&;A dark, twisty confection.&; &;Ruth Ware

&;Absolutely gripping.&; &;Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade&;s most anticipated debuts, published in forty-one languages around the world and in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn&;t paranoia if it&;s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone&;a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn&;t, her world begins to crumble&;and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one&;and nothing&;is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

   

Baker
& Taylor

"It isn't paranoia if it's really happening... Anna Fox lives alone -- a recluse in her New York City home, drinking too much wine, watching old movies... and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move next door: a father, a mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble -- and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this gripping Hitchcockian thriller, no one and nothing are what they seem."--
An agoraphobic recluse languishes in her New York City home, drinking wine and spying on her neighbors, before witnessing a terrible crime through her window that exposes her secrets and raises questions about her perceptions of reality. A first novel. 200,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062678416
0062678418
Branch Call Number: F FIN
Characteristics: 427 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
tanyakumar
Jan 20, 2021

It took me a while to feel invested in the characters and the book in general. However, half way through it really picks up and the ending really made it worthwhile.

I felt that there was too much imagery, and I often forced myself to keep reading. However, that's probably just an issue of personal preference!

Overall, I'd definitely recommend reading this book. If you don't want to look further than what's on the surface, it's a good thriller with some unexpected turns. However, if you do decide to analyze into the writing, I believe there are strong, meaningful, and relatable themes that underlie the story.

a
astraloree
Jan 15, 2021

Great book! Beautiful writing! What a twist at the end, was not expecting that!

s
sgeneshky
Jan 04, 2021

I thought it was a decent thriller. Unfortunately the fact that the description/info box of the book says "what is imagined and what is real", is a pretty big indicator to what is to come in this book. Because of this, I had already figured out most of the plot by page 5. The very last twist was good though. Made this book worth a read.

a
Ameliavu1
Jan 03, 2021

This book was just amazing! That twist gave me goosebumps time literally froze. I really recommend!

l
LINA LEE
Dec 28, 2020

DNF. Short, choppy sentences. Lacked empathy for the main character due to the unengaging style of the author's writing. Repetitive that could be cut out. Forced myself to endure the reading until I lost my patients. I will gladly wait for the movie instead. This book is a bummer since thriller is my favourite genre.

g
gloryb
Dec 26, 2020

This thriller is a page turner with a surprise ending. Suspense is kept at a steady pace throughout. I wanted to know why the new neighbors didn't close their blinds or have them installed, but then the action takes place over 2- 3 weeks so I guess that explains that. Main character is the narrator, a psychologist who suffers from agoraphobia which becomes a bit drawn out as one reads too many times how this affects her. Also no clue what happened to the murdered woman's body. Author introduces several forms of social media and, of course, iphones which don't work at the critical moments. A good read.

t
therapymutt
Nov 23, 2020

most times what you see is what you saw. no matter if anyone else believes you

t
Trixie_reads
Nov 13, 2020

I'm really tired of thrillers written by men featuring helpless women questioning their sanity and living on the edge of hysteria. Why isn't the author's main character a man?

Lovestoread5 Oct 17, 2020

Fantastic thriller! I highly recommend. Hitchcock-esq at it best! I thought the ending might've been a film-noir type, (where nobody wins in the end) but it was a thrilling ending!

a
alanisjadem
Sep 27, 2020

That was twisted and i loved it!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
a
Anika_Singh
Jul 10, 2020

Anika_Singh thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

e
elisabeth_23
Apr 22, 2020

elisabeth_23 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

Mrs157 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

jessebraydon Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
Ameliavu1
Jan 03, 2021

“You live in a dream , your a sleep walker, blind. How do you know what the world is like? Do you know if you rip the fronts of houses you’d find swine? Use your wits, learn something.” - Uncle Charlie

a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OCFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top