The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
177
8
7
 …
Baker & Taylor
An agoraphobic recluse languishes in her New York City home, drinking wine and spying on her neighbors, before witnessing a terrible crime through her window that exposes her secrets and raises questions about her perceptions of reality. A first novel. 200,000 first printing.

HARPERCOLL

#1 New York Times Bestseller &; Soon to be a Major Motion Picture starring Amy Adams, Julianne Moore, and Gary Oldman &; Available on Netflix on May 14, 2021

&;Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.&; &;Gillian Flynn

&;Unputdownable.&; &;Stephen King

&;A dark, twisty confection.&; &;Ruth Ware

&;Absolutely gripping.&; &;Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade&;s most anticipated debuts, published in forty-one languages around the world and in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn&;t paranoia if it&;s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone&;a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn&;t, her world begins to crumble&;and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one&;and nothing&;is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

   

Baker
& Taylor

After the Russells move in next door, Anna Fox, a recluse, finds her world crumbling when she witnesses something she shouldn't.
"It isn't paranoia if it's really happening... Anna Fox lives alone -- a recluse in her New York City home, drinking too much wine, watching old movies... and spying on her neighbors. Then the Russells move next door: a father, a mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble -- and its shocking secrets are laid bare. What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this gripping Hitchcockian thriller, no one and nothing are what they seem."--

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062678416
0062678418
Branch Call Number: F FIN
Characteristics: 427 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
Alpha_zzz
May 09, 2021

This had too much of a “Rear Window” by Alfred Hitchcock vibe and “Girl on the train”. I don’t like copycat books or books with the same theme, so rather than finish it, I returned it. You can kind of surmise what is going to happen. Plus, I don’t like people spying on other people, especially their neighbors, when a person should feel safe and comfortable in their own home. Sorry. It I was an overused theme for me.

c
chascalz
Apr 08, 2021

A very, very good thriller .
Anna Fox is memorable , suffering from agoraphobia.
Lots of interesting scenes .Some brilliant .
Great plot with surprises .
5/5 stars
Just read a lukewarm, negative comment on here .
Don't be put off by that .
You'll miss a great read imo.

w
writermala
Mar 29, 2021

I thought the book started very slowly but it picked up and then it became a page turner. Dr. Anna Fox is a child Psychologist who, as a result of some severe trauma becomes agoraphobic, depressed and prone to panic attacks. She sits at her window and watches the neighbors, sometimes with her camera. Most of the time this is a harmless pastime till one day she sees what appears to be a murder. Unfortunately no one believes her and we can see that when someone is mentally ill their word is not worth much. I as a reader, wanted to believe Anna and was rooting for her. Will she be able to prove what she saw? There are a lot of twists and turns and the ultimate twist is worth waiting for.

b
barleybear
Mar 16, 2021

Excellent! A psychological thriller about a reclusive young woman trying to make sense of what she is seeing through the lens of her Nikon camera that she uses to look out of her window.
Lots of twists and turns! The author does a really good job touching on the real vs the fictitious, trauma, and life as a recluse.

l
LisaMoore1985
Mar 15, 2021

Taking the best twists of Gone Girl and adding the self sabotaging tendencies of The Girl on the Train when added together, you will get the fast paced page turner of a mystery, that is The Woman in the Window by AJ Finn. The Woman in the Window hooks the reader right away with the short chapters and the self loathing and often times self sabotaging main character of Anna. I found myself often frustrated with Anna who is an agoraphobic, someone who is afraid to go out in the outside world. Anna is a child phycologist and should know that mixing alcohol with heavily prescribed medicine is a big NO NO. But that doesn't stop her from doing just that, while also spying on her neighbors. The Woman in the Window is packed with twists from the begging to the very end. You defiantly get Gone Girl and The woman on the Train vibes with this book, but it still holds its own with those two powerhouse books. With short chapters that leave the reader full of suspense, I found myself reading upwards of a hundred pages at a time. If you are looking for a good mystery, The Woman in the Window will leave you satisfied

m
MrsRedbeard
Mar 14, 2021

A great read with strong character and initiating plot. Recommend this book.

r
rkb0429
Mar 13, 2021

Karol and I loved it.

WPL_Erin Mar 12, 2021

Fantastic! I couldn't tell what was real and what wasn't.

t
t_lynschm77
Mar 04, 2021

A well-done thriller where it is hard to tell what is real and what is not. I loved how it unfolded a little at a time and out of nowhere, unexpected truths were revealed. I didn't see the end coming, which made the climax great. The author did a super job of shaping the main character and letting us get to know her. The book also had nice short chapters, which I appreciated, so that I could read little bits when I had time. I would recommend this one.

b
bwald46
Mar 02, 2021

Author takes too much time and space setting things up. Amusing and intriguing at first, but soon seems too clever, too detailed for over half the book until the story starts. It is suspenseful, finally. Gaps in logic, like who the boy's father is, are frustrating.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
s
selinachen_26
May 08, 2021

selinachen_26 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

a
Anika_Singh
Jul 10, 2020

Anika_Singh thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

e
elisabeth_23
Apr 22, 2020

elisabeth_23 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

Mrs157 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

jessebraydon Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
Ameliavu1
Jan 03, 2021

“You live in a dream , your a sleep walker, blind. How do you know what the world is like? Do you know if you rip the fronts of houses you’d find swine? Use your wits, learn something.” - Uncle Charlie

a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OCFPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top